Prof Louise Valentine
EAD President

Chair of Running With Scissors Conference, Dundee 2019.

Director, School of Fashion, Kent State University, USA.

EAD13 >

Prof Leon Cruickshank
EAD Vice President

Director of Research


Lancaster University, UK.

imagination >

Dr. Marzia Mortati
EAD Executive

Assistant Professor in Design,

Department of Design

Politecnico di Milano.

polimi >

Dr Béatrice Gisclard
EAD Executive

Secretary General of

Alliance France Design

University of Nîmes, France.

unimes >

Dr Spyros Bofylatos
EAD Executive

Adjunct Lecturer

University of the Aegean,

spyros-bofylatos >

EAD Executive

Professor, Fashion Design & Merchandising

Kent State University Kent, OH

Noël Palomo-Lovinski >

Dr David Perez
EAD Executive

Radical Co-Design


Lancaster University, UK.

imagination >

EAD Committee

The EAD Committee is composed of a diverse range of professionals, researchers and practitioners from across the globe. The committee evaluates and advises on research-related issues and helps to identify emerging areas of interest.

The Executive Committee consists of academics from mainly European countries, as well as several from outside of Europe. Their role is to steer the Academy and develop future activities. The Committee has a full meeting at each conference and a sub Committee meets quarterly to review progress and to programme conferences and other activities. Members of the committee independently collaborate on other activities such as workshops, held under the auspices of the European Academy of Design. The committee is currently chaired by the President of the EAD, Professor Louise Valentine of Kent State University, Ohio, United States.

EAD Network

During the last 20 years the EAD has been contributing globally to the promotion and development of design research building an extensive global network.

Only in the 2019 EAD conference hosted by Dundee University more than 250 organisations from 40 countries were represented. We received more than 520 contributions from more than 500 delegates.

These numbers show the power of the EAD network to continuing promoting and developing design research around the world.

EAD Scientific Committee

  • Professor Heitor Alvelos, University of Porto, Portugal
  • Professor Paul Atkinson, Sheffield Hallam University University, UK
  • Professor Brigitte Borja de Mozota, Designence, France
  • Professor Tevfik Balcioǧlu, ARUCAD University, Girne, Northern Cypru
  • Professor Leon Cruickshank, Imagination Lancaster, Lancaster University, UK
  • Professor Ozlem Er, Istanbul Bilgi University, Turkey
  • Professor Lisbeth Lorenz Holms, University of Gothenburg, HDK Academy of Design & Craft
  • Professor Lorenzo Imbesi, Sapienza University of Rome, Italy
  • Assoc. Professor Loredana de Lucchini, Sapienza University of Rome, Italy
  • Professor Deana McDonagh, University of Illinois, USA
  • Professor Julian Malins, Heriot Watt University, Scotland.
  • Professor Louise Valentine, Kent State University, USA


  • Aaron Davis, University of South Australia
  • Abhinav Chaturvedi, Bennett University New Delhi
  • Amanda Brigg-Goode, Nottingham Trent University
  • Annalinda De Rosa, Politecnico di Milano
  • Antonius van den Broek, Loughborough University London
  • Auricchio Valentina , Politecnico di Milano
  • Awoniyi Steve, Texas State University
  • Beatrice Gisclard, Kent State University
  • Bolzan Patrizia, Politecnico di Milano
  • Brigitte Auziol, University of Nimes
  • Broadbent Stefana, Politecnico di Milano
  • Catherine Leslie, Kent State University
  • Cautela Cabirio, Politecnico di Milano
  • Cyril Tjahja, Hanze University of Applied Science
  • David Sánchez Ruano, Tecnologico de Monterrey
  • Eliana Ferrulli, Politecnico di Torino
  • Elisa Bertolotti, Universidade da Madeira
  • Francesco Mazzarella, University of the Arts London
  • Gionata Gatto, Dubai Institute of Design and Innovation
  • Grahame Hudson, De Montfort University
  • Hayley Alter , Lancaster University
  • Hazal Gumus Ciftci, The Ohio State University
  • Helen Charoupia, University of the Aegean
  • J.R. Campbell, Kent State University
  • JaYoung Hwang, Kent State University
  • Jeyon Jung, Kyung Hee University
  • Joe Langley, Sheffield Hallam
  • Joseph Lindley, Lancaster University
  • Joyce Yee, Northumbria University
  • Juan Carlos Briede, Universidad Tecnica Federico Santa María
  • Katerina Alexiou, Open University
  • Laura Warwick, Northumbria University
  • Linda Ohrn, Kent State University
  • Lisa Thomas, Lancaster University
  • Louise Valentine, Kent State University
  • Mariani Ilaria, Politecnico di Milano
  • Mariia Zolotova , Xi’an Jiaotong-Liverpool University
  • Mersha Aftab, Birmingham City University
  • Michael Stead, Lancaster University
  • Mikko Koria, Loughborough University London
  • Mirian Calvo, ImaginationLancaster
  • Morelli Nicola, Aalborg University
  • Nick Irvine, Birmingham City University
  • Nicos Souleles, Cyprus University of Technology
  • Niki Wallace, University of South Australia
  • Noel Palomo-Lovinski , Kent State University
  • Panayiotis Koutsabasis , University of Aegean
  • Pei Xue, Politecnico di Milano
  • Pillan Margherita, Politecnico di Milano
  • Rampino Lucia, Politecnico di Milano
  • Rebecca Earley, University of the Arts London
  • Robin Vande Zande, Kent State University
  • Roger Whitham, ImaginationLancaster
  • Rosendy Galabo, ImaginationLancaster
  • Sara Marcketti, Iowa State University
  • Sara Nevay, University of Dundee
  • Sehee Hwang, University of Arkansas
  • Simon Bowen, Newcastle University
  • Spallazzo Davide, Politecnico di Milano
  • Stephen Awoniui, Texas State University
  • Theodore Zamenopolous, Open University
  • Thomas Watkin, Paris College of Art
  • Troxler Peter, Rotterdam University of Applied Science
  • Valentina Vezzani, Universidade da Madeira
  • Varisco Laura, Politecnico di Milano
  • Xinya You, University of Dundee
  • Younjoon Lee, Hongik University
  • Yujia Huang, University of Dundee