The Design Journal

Founded in 1998, The Design Journal is a well-established, leading international peer-reviewed refereed journal covering many aspects of design.  The journal is published by Taylor & Francis six times a year and provides a lively forum for a broad audience of design scholars, researchers, practitioners, educators, and managers worldwide. It aims to publish thought-provoking work that will have a direct impact on design knowledge and which challenges assumptions and methods while being open-minded about the evolving role of design.


Louise Valentine

Wei Liu, Kings College London, UK

Noel Palomo-Lovinski, School of Fashion, Kent State University, USA

Christopher LimDuncan of Jordanstone College of Art & Design, University of Dundee, UK
Gemma WheelerIndependent Scholar, UK

John KnightAalto University, Finland



EAD13 2019: Running with Scissors

Running with Scissors: 13th International Conference of the European Academy of Design, Dundee, 10-12th April, 2019, edited by Louise Valentine, Joanna Bletcher and Leon Cruickshank


EAD12 2017: Design for Next

Design for Next: Proceedings of the 12th European Academy of Design Conference, Sapienza University of Rome, 12-14 April 2017, edited by Loredana Di Lucchio, Lorenzo Imbesi, Paul Atkinson


EAD are always indebted to our reviewers. We welcome enquiries from new reviewers ready to assist with academic paper feedback.

Tevfik Balcioglu, Yasar University, Turkey
Vasco Branco, University of Aveiro, Portugal
Anne Chick, University of Lincoln, UK
Tom Inns, Independent Scholar, UK
Birgit Jevnaker, BI Norwegian Business School, Norway
Pekka Korvenmaa, Aalto University, Finland
Tore Kristensen, Copenhagen Business School, Denmark
Julian Malins, The Robert Gordon University, UK
Catherine McDermott, Kingston University, UK
Penny Sparke, Kingston University, UK
Michael Tovey, Coventry University, UK
Artemis Yagou, Deutsches Museum, Germany

Helena Barbosa, Universidade de Aveiro, Portugal
Brigitte Borja de Mozota, Designence, France
Rebecca Earley, Chelsea College of Art, UK
Özlem Er, Istanbul Bilgi University, Turkey
Mark Evans, Loughborough University, UK
Priscila Farias, Universidade de São Paulo, Brazil
Alison Gwilt, University of New South Wales, Australia
Marlene Ivey, NSCAD University, Canada
Wolfgang Jonas, Braunschweig University of Art, Germany
John Knight, Aalto University, Finland
Steven McCarthy, University of Minnesota, USA
Deana McDonagh, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, USA
Ann Petermans, Hasselt University, Belguim
K. Scott Swan, College of William & Mary, USA
Ertu Unver, University of Huddersfield, UK
Stuart Walker, Lancaster University, UK